100 years after the tragedy, the customs officer monument will experience a second inauguration

100 years after the tragedy, the customs officer monument will experience a second inauguration

The monument to customs officers, located along rue d’Offignies in Dour, will be re-inaugurated on Friday June 24 at 7 p.m., 100 years to the day after the tragedy that cost the lives of two customs officers. This monument has been replaced just in front of its original location along the new cyclo-pedestrian path which adjoins rue d’Offignies.

In this way, the monument will be better highlighted”v, explains the library of Dour, organizer of the event. An educational panel retracing the history of the two customs officers has been installed. It also aims to draw the attention of passers-by to the importance of hedges and the pollard willow. Recently, 120 willows and a 1750 meter long hedge were planted along this track.

The monument of the customs officers was inaugurated for the first time in 1923 when a committee formed by the villagers and the friends of the two customs officers decided to build a commemorative monument on the scene of the crime in the hamlet of Offignies in Dour. And this, following the drama of the assassination of Alexandre Wilfrid Decot and Joseph Lucien Nanquin dating from June 24, 1922.

This monument, made of blue stone and bearing a commemorative inscription, was inaugurated on July 1, 1923. At the time, during the inauguration ceremony, speeches and songs were performed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.