Golden Boy Award: 6 Belgian footballers in the list of 100 nominees

Six Belgian players feature in the list of 100 players nominated for the Golden Boy Award, the trophy for the greatest footballing talent under the age of 21, awarded annually by Italian sports newspaper Tuttosport.

Among its six players, three play in the Jupiler Pro League with Anouar At El Hadj (Anderlecht), Maarten Vandevoordt (Genk) and Cisse Sandra (Club Brugge). The other three Belgian players named are Jeremy Doku (Rennes), already appointed last year, Aster Vranckx (Wolfsburg) and Eliot Matazo (Monaco).

Diego Moreirason of the former Standard player Almani Moreira, is also listed. Trained at Standard, the current Benfica player was born in Belgium but plays for Portugal in the national youth teams.

Among the big names in international football, we find in particular the Spaniard PedriFC Barcelona player and defending champion, but also the Spaniard Gavi (Barcelona), the French Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), German Juval Musiala (Bayern Munich) and English Jude Bellingham (Dortmund).

The Golden Boy Award has been awarded since 2003. An international jury of football journalists chooses the winner. On the list, we find players such as Rafael Van der Vaart (2003), wayne rooney (2004), Lionel Messi (2005), Cesc Fabregas (2006), Sergio Aguero (2007), Mario Balotelli (2010), Paul Pogba (2013), Raheem Sterling (2014) or even Kylian Mbappe (2017)

No Belgian has ever been able to win the Golden Boy Award. Eden Hazard (third in 2011), Thibaut Courtois (third in 2012), Romelu Lukaku (second in 2013) and Divock Origi (second in 2014) made it to the podium.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.